THSLL Districts


Posted on March 01, 2010
Plano Senior High Alumni and Army Goalie Tom Palesky named to Tewaarton Watch List for 2010    Highland Park High School Alumni and Denver Midfielder Charley Dickenson named as a candidate for the Lowe's 2010 Senior CLASS Award.  THSLL and Plano West Senior High Alumni and U.S. Air Force Attackman Ridge Flick named as a candidate for the Lowe's 2010 Senior CLASS Award. Tom Palesky has been voted to the watch list for the 2010 Tewaaraton Award, which annually recognizes the top collegiate lacrosse player in the nation.  Tom joins the list of 64 total athletes named to this year's list across all three NCAA divisions by a selection committee of college coaches from across the country.   Tom finished 10th nationally and led the Patriot League with a .591 save percentage while also leading the conference with 12.75 saves per game and finishing second with an 8.89 goals against average in 2009.  Credited with double-digit save totals in 13 of 16 contests, his 204 saves was the third-highest single-season total in Academy history.  This season, Palesky has played every minute in goal for Army and registered a 21-save performance on Feb. 28 against two-time defending national champion Syracuse to garner Patriot League Goalkeeper of the Week recognition. The Tewaaraton Award list is made up of the top lacrosse players across all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse and are the early hopefuls for the 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy.  Watch list nominees are screened and selected by two Selection Committees.  The Selection Committees are comprised of college coaches, one committee for the men and one committee for the women."I am excited to announce this year's watch list," said Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance.  "The committee has done an outstanding job at selecting the top contenders across the country.  This year's list represents 35 institutions, over 13 conferences encompassing students from 14 states, Canada and Australia, so if this is any indication of what is to come, I believe we are in store for an electrifying and intense season ahead."The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is given annually to the NCAA men's and women's lacrosse player of the year.  Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. This will be the 10th annual awards ceremony and is the "Year of the Seneca".   The Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 3 at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. Traditionally, one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy is celebrated in conjunction with the award, and 2010 will be recognized at "Year of the Seneca."  Charley Dickenson and Ridge Flick are two of twenty NCAA® men's lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field and were tabbed as candidates for the 2010 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award.  To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - classroom, character, community and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.    An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School„¢, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.    This year's candidate class includes 13 student-athletes on teams ranked in the Nike/Inside Lacrosse media preseason top 20 poll.  In addition, nine candidates are on the preseason Inside Lacrosse Face-Off Yearbook Division I All-American list.  Six candidates own cumulative grade point averages of 3.5 or better.    Lowe's, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the 2010 Senior CLASS Award„¢ winner at the NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore May 29-31.    The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of classroom, character, community and competition.      "The lacrosse candidates represent a diverse cross-section of universities and a wide array of academic courses of study,€ said Tom Lamb, Lowe's senior vice president of marketing.  "But the common denominator is a passion for their sport and for finishing their careers as students and athletes at the top.€      

Back to List